The Cross County Conference began in the fall of 1978.  The conference was formed when Ansonia, Arcanum, Bradford, Franklin Monroe, Mississinawa Valley, Newton, and Tri-Village from the Darke County League joined with National Trail, Preble Shawnee, Tri-County North, and Twin Valley South from the Wayne Trace League while Bethel joined from the Three Rivers Conference.

At the end of the 1983-84 season, Preble Shawnee left the conference.

Covington joined the conference from the Southwestern Rivers Conference in the fall of 1991.

Anna, of the Shelby County League, joined the conference in the fall of 2001 as a football only member.

Anna left the conference at the end of the 2005 football season to join the Midwest Athletic Conference.

Miami East joined the conference from the Central Buckeye Conference in the fall of 2006 as a full member.

When Tri-Village added football to its sports offering, it brought the number of football school to 11.  To make the number of football teams even, beginning in the fall of 2017, Fort Loramie of the Shelby County League joined the conference as a football only member.

Currently, the conference has 13 full members and one football only member.